Just In: INEC declares Rotimi Akeredolu winner of Ondo Gubernatorial Election!

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) have declared Rotimi Akeredolu winner of the gubernatorial election after the incumbent Governor scored 292,830 votes.

Eyitayo Jegede of the People’s Democratic Party scored 195,791 votes, while Zenith Labour Party’s candidate, Agboola Ajayi who is also the Deputy Governor scored 69, 127 votes.

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu won 16 of the 18 Local Government Areas in the state as he secures another four-year tenure in office.

The result was announced in Akure by Professor Idowu Olayinka, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan who served as the Returning Officer.

He said;

I hereby certify that I am the returning officer of the Ondo State election and that the election was conducted and the candidates received the following votes – Oluwarotimi Akeredolu got 292,830, Eyitayo Jegede got 195,791 and Agboola Ajayi got 69,127.

That Oluwarotimi Akeredolu secured the highest number of votes among the 17 contestants. Moreover, he was expected to score 25 per cent in two-thirds of the state but he scored it across the 18 LGAs.

Consequently, having satisfied the requirements of the law, I hereby declare Akeredolu as the winner and he is hereby returned elected.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *