Champions League: UEFA release list of nominees for 2020/2021 positional awards!

European football governing body, UEFA has published the list of miners for its 2020/2021 positional awards.

Chelsea, the defending champions have five players in three different positions while last season’s runner-up, Manchester City, has three players in different positions as well.

The nominees were chosen by a jury which consists of the 32 coaches in last season’s Champions League group stage together with  55 journalists chosen by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, one from every UEFA member association. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their teams.

Members of the jury pick their top three players in each position with the first receiving five points, the second three points, and the third one.

The three players with the most points in each category made the final shortlist.

Below is the list of nominees:

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Ederson (Manchester City), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)

Defenders: César Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Rúben Dias (Manchester City), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea)

Champions League

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Jorginho (Chelsea), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)

Forwards: Erling Haaland (Dortmund), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Kylian Mbappé (Paris)

The winners of each category will be announced later this month during the draws for the group stage of the 2021/2022 Champions League season.


Scroll to Top