Clattenburg: Referee robbed Man United of valid penalty claim
Former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg is convinced Manchester United should have been given a penalty in Sunday’s 0-0 draw against homers Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.
Callum Hudson-Odoi challenged for a loose ball with Mason Greenwood and the ball bounced up to touch the youngster’s hand.
Referee Stuart Attwell was called to the monitor and VAR recommended he award a spot-kick but the referee stuck with his gut and Hudson-Odoi went unpunished.
Writing in his Sportsmail column, Clattenburg said he was baffled at the decision not to award the penalty.
“I am amazed Manchester United were not awarded a penalty in the first half for the clear handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi.
“The Chelsea player’s arm was up in an unnatural position and the ball hit his hand.
“VAR Chris Kavanagh thought referee Stuart Attwell had missed a clear penalty so he gave him the opportunity to review it at his pitch-side monitor.
“How Attwell did not then point to the spot, having been shown the same angles that we were, is a mystery.”
The draw leaves Manchester United 12 points behind leaders Manchester City who they face in next Sunday’s Manchester derby while Chelsea remain in fifth, a point outside the top four