Kennedy Boboye makes history as Akwa United win NPFL title for the first time!

Akwa United couldn’t have wished for anything else than to win their first NPFL title in front of their home fans at the Nest of Champions in Uyo.

Kennedy Boboye’s side only needed a draw to emerge as Champions but they got an outright win as they thumped MFMFC 5-2.

Ashtimene Charles opened the flood gates of goals in the 24th minute before Adebayo Alimi did the away side a disservice with an own goal to make it 2 nil for Akwa United before halftime.

Mfon Udoh added to the misery of MFMFC in the 62nd minute with the third goal.

Michael Mbonu pulled a goal back for the away side six minutes later but Ashtimene wasn’t done scoring as he got his brace with five minutes to regulation time.

Ashtimene Charles got his hattrick in the extra time of regulation time as he claimed his 18th goal of the season.

Kennedy Boboye made history as he becomes the first coach to win the NPFL title twice in the LMC era after his previous triumph with Plateau United.

Akwa United currently have 71 points after 37 games. They will take on Lobi Stars in their final group game of the season

Scroll to Top