CAF Elections: Follow live updates here

CAF Elections: Follow live updates hereĀ 

The 43rd Ordinary and Elective General Assembly of the Confederation of African Football is currently holding in Rabat, Morocco.

It is particulary momentous as South Africa’s Patrice Motsepe is expected to be crowned as the new President of the body today.

Also, Nigeria’s Amaju Pinnick will battle it out with other contestants for one of the seats on the FIFA Council committee.

The agenda for the election is here.

You can follow all the up-to-the-minute blow-by-blow account of the voting, including for Pinnick’s election, from Rabat.



*Counting of votes still ongoing

13:12 – Counting in progress

13:11 – After sorting, counting is next

13:10 – Voting ends. Sorting of the ballot papers next

13:07 – Zambia and Zimbabwe take their turns

13:04 – Tanzania, Togo and Tunisia vote

13:01 – Sudan and South Sudan, now voting

13:00 – Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone and Somalia are next

12:55 – Rwanda and Sao Tome vote

12: 54: DR Congo is next followed by Central African Republic

12:53 – Nigeria votes through the NFF Secretary General Dr Mohammed Sanusi

*Dr Sanusi

12:51 – Nambia and Niger voting now

12:49 – Mauritius, Mauritania (country of immediate past President Ahmad Ahmad) and Mozambique go next

12:47 – Mali and Morocco have voted

12:45 – Madagascar and Malawi are next

12:43 – While observing all Covid-19 protocols, the Scrutineers are asking each voting delegate to remove their facemasks for proper identification

12:41 – Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia and Libya go next

12:39 – Guinea, followed by Equitorial Guinea, next

12:37 – Ghana votes

12:35 – Gabon, followed by Gambia, voting now

12:34 – Each delegate is given two ballots, one for the FIFA Council elections and the other for CAF Executive Committee (South)

12:33 – Eswatini, formerly Swaziland, votes next

12:31- Congo is next

12:30 – Candidates are being called alphabetically

12:30 – Cape Verde voting

12:28 – The delegate from Cameroon is at the polling booth

12:26 – Voting now in progress

Scroll to Top