Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

Breaking! Oshoala, Ajibade, Five Others Nominated For CAF Women’s Player Of The Year Award!

Breaking! Oshoala, Ajibade, Five Others Nominated For CAF Women's Player Of The Year Award! 2

Barcelona Femini and Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala, Atletico Madrid Women’s forward, Rasheedat Ajibade and five other Super Falcons have been nominated for the 2023 CAF Women’s Player of the Year Award.

The list of nominess for the prestigious award was released by the football governing body on Tuesday via its official website.

The preliminary list consists of 30 players within and outside the continent and Nigeria has the highest number of nominees for the award.


Asisat Oshoala, the current holder of the award leads the rest of the Nigerian nominees. The Barcelona Femini striker had a brilliant season with 26 goals in 37 appearances as she helped Barcelona win the treble last season. She also had a decent outing with one goal for the Super Falcons at the Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The 29-year-old striker is aiming at wining a record-extending sixth award which will be the most by any African player, male or female in history.

Other Nigerian nominees include six Super Falcons players who were immense to Nigeria’s outstanding performances at the Women’s World Cup.


The nominees include: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC), Christy Ucheibe (Nigeria, Benfica), Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria, Alaves/Pachuca), Rasheedat Ajibade (Nigeria, Atletico Madrid), Toni Payne (Nigeria, Sevilla) and Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria, Tigres/Racing Louisville).

The winner will be determined through votes from a panel comprising the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, and the Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations and clubs participating in the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The award ceremony will take place on December 11, 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.


About The Author