Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

Onome Ebi, Oshoala, Ajibade, 22 others make Super Falcons squad list for AWCON 2022

Onome Ebi, Oshoala, Ajibade, 22 others make Super Falcons squad list for AWCON 2022 2

Onome Ebi, the team captain, Asisat Oshoala, Rashidat Ajibade and 22 other players have been chosen by head coach Randy Waldrum to represent Nigeria at the 12th Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, which will take place in Morocco from July 2 through July 23.

Veteran players Tochukwu Oluehi, Ebi, Rita Chikwelu, Osinachi Ohale, Francisca Ordega, and Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene are among the nine-time champions, along with defenders Ashleigh Plumptre, Nicole Payne, and Michelle Alozie, midfielder Regina Otu, and forwards Vivian Ikechukwu, Gift Monday, and Ifeoma Onum

Goalkeeper Rita Akarekor, defenders Chidinma Okeke, Ngozi Emenayo, and Opeyemi Sunday, midfielders Suliat Abideen, Amanda Uju Mbadi, and Charity Adule, and striker Anam Imo were all cut from the group that traveled to Abuja for training.


Prior to their subsequent matches against Botswana (7 July) and Burundi, the Super Falcons will play South Africa’s Banyana Banyana on Monday, July 4.

Africa will be represented by all four semifinalists at the tournament in Morocco in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The Super Falcons’ contingent will depart Nigeria for Morocco on Monday, 27th June.


See full list below

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, USA)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)


Midfielders: Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden)

About The Author