Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by whitelisting our website.

AFCON Qualifiers: Super Eagles to know opponents April 19

AFCON Qualifiers: Super Eagles to know opponents April 19 2

The Super Eagles will know their group opponents when the draw for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualification series is staged in Johannesburg, South Africa on Tuesday.

A total of 48 teams will be divided into 12 groups of four teams each, with only the winner of each group guaranteed a slot at the 34th Africa Cup of Nations that Ivory Coast will stage next year summer.

Hosts Ivory Coast are guaranteed a place, alongside the best three second–placed teams in all the 12 groups.


Nigeria, who finished in third place at the 2019 finals in Egypt and reached the Round of 16 at this year’s championship in Cameroon, is among the 12 teams in Pot 1 – the teams that will head the 12 qualification groups.

Others in Pot 1 are reigning champions Senegal, Morocco, Egypt, Tunisia, Cameroon, Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Democratic Republic of Congo and Ivory Coast.

In Pot 2 are South Africa, Cape Verde, Guinea, Gabon, Benin Republic, Uganda, Zambia, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Madagascar, Kenya and Sierra Leone.


Pot 3 comprises of Namibia, Mauritania, Guinea-Bissau, Niger Republic, Libya, Mozambique, Malawi, Togo, Zimbabwe, The Gambia, Angola and Comoros.

Tanzania, Central African Republic, Sudan, Rwanda, Burundi, Ethiopia, Swaziland, Lesotho, Botswana, Liberia, South Sudan and Sao Tome & Principe make up Pot 4.

The qualifiers will hold from June 2022 and March 2023. The first two matchdays are in June, with two other matchdays in September and the final two matchdays to take place in March 2023.


Punch Mobile

About The Author